Alert archives

Sunday, 18 April 2021

Dean Blair Memorial Trophy winner Eadie Cychowski, Joan Blair and Scarlett Allen.

Kiama Little Athletics’ 2020-2021 season came to a conclusion on Saturday, April 17 with the annual presentation at Kiama Leagues Club.

The Centre’s highest accolade is the Dean Blair Memorial Trophy which is presented to the athlete who attains the highest level of improvement throughout the season.

This year’s winner was Under 8 athlete Eadie Cychowski.  In second place was Scarlett Allen (Under 6) and in third place was Maiya Hewitt (Under 12).

Dean Blair was a member of Kiama Little Athletics Centre in the 1980 season, joining at the age of nine.  In just three months Dean broke 15 records, a testimony to his natural ability.  Tragically Dean died in December 1980 as a result of a playground accident at school.  The perpetual trophy was struck in Dean’s memory.

Maiya Hewitt (Under 12) received the Don Hodgekiss Award for best performance at Zone, Region and State.

Under 14 athlete Amelia Weatherlake was the recipient of the Coaches Most Improved Award.

The Centre’s annual general meeting was held after the Presentation at Kiama Leagues Club.  All Executive positions were filled but the Centre still needs a Recorder and more General Committee members are always welcome.