Dean Blair Trophy


Dean Blair

Dean Blair was a member of Kiama Little Athletics from September to December 1980.  During his short but impressive membership he excelled in both track and field.  A natural athlete, Dean broke an amazing fifteen (15) records in the Under 10 Age Group in three (3) months, some of which still stand today.  His goal was to compete at the Olympics.

Some of his achievements were:

100m 14.6
200m 29.8
400m 1:06.8
800m 2:42.1
60m/h 10.3
Long Jump 14.35m
Discus 23.90m


Tragically Dean’s life was cut short on the 5th of December 1980 in a playground accident at school.  He had been preparing for the Zone Championships which were to commence the following day.  As a result a perpetual trophy honoring Dean’s memory was kindly donated by the family of fellow athletes, Kirk & Garth Brown.  This trophy is awarded to the winner of the point score every year.

Past winners of the Dean Blair Memorial Trophy are:


1981: Karen Tieck 2001: Keiran Forrest
1982: Glen Doney 2002: Lauren Hatton
1983: Leanne Wilford 2003: Emily Forrest
1984: Debbie Smith 2004: Alanna Smith
1985: Rennee Brennen 2005: Talissa Scott
1986: Mark Pardoe 2006: Talissa Scott
1987: Haley O’Sullivan & Damien Piper 2007: Talissa Scott
1988: David Lange 2008: Larni Cowgill
1989: Danielle Scott 2009: Jake Cleal-Cook
1990: Mathew Bowden 2010: Sienna Waldie
1991: Nicholas Cooper 2011: Jasper Arnold
1992: Monica DiMaio 2012: Ella Cleal-Cook
1993: Jasmine Bell 2013: Jake Cleal-Cook
1994: Paul Ross 2014: Jonah Nieborak
1995: Andrew Poppett 2015: Ella Cleal-Cook
1996: Vanessa Poppett 2016: Lachlan Poole
1997: Andrew Poppett 2017: Lachlan Poole
1998: Jared Poppett 2018: Isabelle Hodgson
1999: Rebekah Tobin 2019: Isabelle Hodgson
2000: Paul James-White & Jessica Davies 2020 Maiya Hewitt